A Just Walk (run, hike, etc…)

"…to the Rock that is higher…"

Like When I Was Ten

3 Comments

I composed this poem when I lived in China  during my bike rides home from my friend’s house. This is for them, and for everyone who still gets to ride their bike over to their friend’s house to play.

Riding my bike home

like when I was ten.

Summer’s eve seeps,

saturates my skin.

Summer’s breeze slips,

whips through my hair.

The air stirs

a playful longing.

I grin.

I’m riding my bike home

like when I was ten.

3 thoughts on “Like When I Was Ten

  1. Awesome. We received this while Linda and I were riding our tandem bike from near Traverse City, so it was very fitting!

  2. What a sweet poem Katherine. Mike and I just finished four days on the bike. It was so like this poem. There’s nothing like it!

  3. I still ride past your old apartment on WentiLu and wish you were there to play!

Leave a comment