A Just Walk (run, hike, etc…)

"…to the Rock that is higher…"

What’s Up?

5 Comments

It has been a busy time, recently! I just returned to Thailand after a jam-packed month in the States. Stateside trips are always a mix of fun and work – and good thing I love what I do! The highlight was speaking at the GMHC in Louisville again this year. I’m not really a conference-lover, but this should be on your list!

I continue to be amazed at the number of people interested in working against human trafficking – especially the health professionals! There is work to be done for sure, but developing the projects and preparing an effective ministry platform is not always easy – I can’t keep up with all the people! Another thing that struck me is the interest people have to get involved in counter-trafficking efforts happening locally. YAY! This is an area that you can more easily (although not more easy or lazy than hitting the “donate” button) do in your every day life. I really need to write a separate blog about this but there are a couple ways to help – basically: Find out who is working against the sex or labor trade of people in your city/region. There is usually a counter-trafficking coalition or a point person or NGO working somewhere nearby. Another way to act locally for impact globally is to shop smart. Here is an old post on the subject, but you get the idea. I’ve heard of a few interventions being planned to help intercept traffickers and trafficked people leading up to the Super Bowl in Indianapolis – check it out if you are interested. Way more to say about these matters when I get more time!

When I got back to Thailand I went all-out to get moved in and settled into my house I am renting. I’m now pretty much set – the stuff that needs to get done I can do while living here. Here are some pics of my two bedroom, 2 bath, 2 door bungalow in Chiang Mai. I know that I’m probably making my friends in China jealous, but I am so blessed to be in this place!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now as I settle in, I continue to work on developing professional and personal relationships here. The major projects I have been working on internationally are still going on, but where and how do I plug into what is going on here will take a bit of time. There is plenty to do, that is for sure!

In just a few days, I’ll be set to launch RELENTLESS! Relentless is a project I’ve been working on for several months and I’m very excited about it! Stay tuned!

5 thoughts on “What’s Up?

  1. 2 bedroom & 2 bath… you must be preparing for visitors!

  2. Katherine, this is beautiful! What a landing place for you! Great to see you at GHMC and to read your blog here encouraging others to local counter TIP engagement. Sending hugs from Libya!

  3. OUTSTANDING! Great place to call home.

  4. How great to have a Mango tree. I’m sure they are even better fresh!

  5. Great home and bike! Hope you’re enjoying it back in Thailand. I’m jealous of the mango trees.

Leave a Reply

