A Just Walk (run, hike, etc…)

"…to the Rock that is higher…"

Firecracker! June 09

2 Comments

“Peds Week”! From June 11-21 I’ll be in Macau to give lectures and workshops on Pediatrics. HOPE Macau is another Family Medicine training program in China but they do not have a Pediatrician. They’ve invited me to become an adjunct faculty in Pediatrics and help them out on occasion. This is the same group with whom I traveled to Beijing in March to assess the orphan programs there for Pediatric teaching opportunities.

Team Jericho met for the second time last week. We had a new woman come and she said that she knew a couple of other local women who would be interested in joining. To have met a group of women willing to meet together and seek the way forward on behalf of these vulnerable women and children within my first few months here is really something! I’m not sure how long we’ll be in this stage, but we are learning together to be led ahead in this matter – not too fast and not too slow.

The LIGHT Residency Program continues to grow and evolve as we have already begun a new year. Two new residents have joined us – a couple of lovely young women who are bright and eager! I look forward to getting to know them better over the next couple of years. Because of some creative work and study schedules within LIGHT, we didn’t have any residents graduating from the program this year. David L. (new Family Medicine doc) and I are still getting to  know the residents, the staff, and the program in general, not to mention getting to know the medical system in Shenyang on top of that! This is a time of transition for the training program as we look at where we have been and where we want to go in the near and far future. Leadership development and strategic planning in the context of love and service is richly challenging. Please be lifting up all of us: leaders, staff, foreigners and nationals alike.

Life in China continues to unfold in myriad challenges, surprises (good and bad), and things that just make you go “hmmmm”. Within the context of life on the ground, working in a hospital-based clinic, interacting with the Chinese, many things still don’t make any sense at all. Actually, I quit asking “why?” a long time ago. A friend of mine who has been here 18 years says that there are things that still don’t make sense to her! I’m just learning learning learning – that is the best thing you can do here – about myself, God, and of course China and the Chinese people.

Although I’m not new to China, I’ve experienced some culture shock in moving to a new place doing a new work with a new team. I think that I will always have some dark days, days that make me ask, “what is the point of me being here?” Even so, those times give me opportunities dig deeper in faith and seek His goodness instead of letting myself get carried away in dispair. I believe in a God “who can see in the dark”!

Nathan and ManoahThe photograph is of a couple of foster children I’ve had the privilege of serving!


2 thoughts on “Firecracker! June 09

  1. Thank you for these updates Katherine. It is a privilege to partner with you as you invest your life in so many ways.

    Blessings,
    Karen

  2. Hey Friend!

    Just wanted to let you know I love WHO you are and I love what you are doing. I feel honored to be your friend…why are we freinds, again? heehee. I’m going to start praying for your work with the boys. Not sure yet HOW I’ll bring it to their level, but we’ll figure something out.

    You’ll be happy to know that Brian bought me a bike for Mother’s Day…it’s a COMFORT bike with big handlebars. So nice! I love it…looking forward to a long ride with you!

    Missing you!
    Rob

Leave a Reply

